Our First Home Sweet Home

I knew from the very beginning this day would come: the day we would sell our first home. It is starting to get real as we’ve told our neighbors, the sign has appeared in our front yard, and we have begun to show our home, in hopes to find the perfect people to replace our memories here with their own.

The wonderful things I have loved…

  • Moving in nine years ago as newlyweds (literally, the day we got married). When we first bought this house, it was absolutely perfect for us. We thought we would probably love this place, and we have. We truly have enjoyed our time here. This has been such a solid home, more solid than I was even expecting. God has gifted us hugely by allowing us to stay in our Penn house for this long!
  • Man handling the wilderness of a backyard. The place was so overgrown with nothingness when we moved in, and I’m actually fairly proud to call it mine now. I recall growing my very own first garden here. I was so proud of those first fruits! We have learned so much about taking care of a yard in the time we’ve spent here. It’s been a good test run. Ha ha!
  • Spending lazy summer days in the shady backyard hammock. Honestly, I can’t even really remember what I did with my summers before Evie and Olan entered besides hammocking and reading and napping. What a life!
  • Bringing our babies home to this place. Evie actually gave a purpose to our second bedroom, and Olan, well, he made it so that bedroom needed to multiply itself. Ha! My kids learned how to crawl in this house. They lovingly coated our dining room floor with each and every food that has passed through their lips. We have read thousands of books in this living room. My girl has spent hours (literally) on the pot in her own little world, and even more hours imagining the sink as a waterfall of wonder, serving up countless pots of fresh tea and water cakes to anyone within earshot. Their little voices and heavy feet echo within the walls. This place will have an extra special spot in my heart because of my kids. I will carry these memories for them, since likely, they will not recall living here for themselves.
  • The way this house has helped me realize my love of hospitality, both in its charm and its limited space has been a gift from God. I love having people in my home! We have hosted so many get togethers, birthday parties, Bible studies, and the like here… I am glad this love has been able to flourish, and even more excited to expand our hospitable-ness in our new place, with extra space in the departments of living, bedrooms and basement.
  • The many faces of our versatile basement. It has gone from an awkward leaning tower of totes to an organized, well oiled machine. It’s been a workshop, a workout area, a photography studio, a laundry room, a pantry, a diaper washing factory, a sewing room, a closet, a playroom, an ironing board, a file keeper, a box collector, a sleepover pad during inclement weather, and a catch all for just about everything we own. You have done us well, basement. Bravo.
  • Our front porch. I will surely miss this dearly. Rocking like old folks out on our white rocking chairs, yeah, that’s us. A great place to hang in the cool of the morning or in the shade of the evening after kids are snoozing. Love.

I could keep on going with stuff like this, but I’ll spare you. Staring out at the “For Sale” sign in my front lawn this afternoon makes me feel a bunch of emotions. I’m ready to go, but I’m torn about leaving. I’m sad to leave, but I’m happy to go. I’m anxious to go, but I’m apprehensive about leaving. But among all of this, I am strangely peaceful. Possible freak out mode in the near future, but hey, what the heck? I’ll settle for peacefulness right now.

Onto our next adventure!

 

3 thoughts on “Our First Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

