Holly and Ray: #bowtietheknot Edition!

It was some of the most exciting news we’ve had in 2016… Holly and Ray were getting married! With much anticipation, we’ve been looking forward to our Florida trip to see these two get hitched for a long time. So glad we got to step away from real life and spend five days with the Henry clan in sunny Saint Petersburg, Florida for the festive occasion.

On Thursday, one week before school let out, we (Logan, Evie and I) hopped on a direct flight (thank God!) with Chuck, Janine, Cole, Grandpa Henry, and Grandma Peterson to our destination. We ubered to our hotel, The Hollander, and quickly got accustomed to the layout: built in the 1930s and very classy, filled with so much character, wonderful food, giant verandas, perfect outdoor seating, and the coolest pool I’ll probably ever see at a hotel. Evie was in high heaven, what with the pool (where we “danced in the night”), stairs, elevator, and her own little sofa bed. Spoiled!

Friday we ladies went and met Holly and her crew to get nails done at the Pearl Salon. The brightest pedicure I’ve ever gotten… bright orange! Living on the edge, people.

I can’t begin to explain the amount of food I ate the whole trip. It was really good to the baby bump. If I were behind schedule on weight gain before, I’m not anymore. I was so looking forward to the seafood, and I got my fill. Every article of victual that rolled down my esophagus was worth it.

Saturday was beach day! It was hot. It was sunny. It was packed. But we got there. We buried Evie in the sand a lot. We tried to get her to like being in the ocean, but she just prefers the pool I guess. I’m finding that my girl doesn’t really like unpredictability. The waves were just too much change for her to be okay with. Sand is nice. Saltwater is not. Rehearsal Dinner at a fancy restaurant (Evie got to have Lobster Macaroni and Cheese… and she ate the whole stinkin’ thing) and a Welcoming Party at the Tap Room around the pool finished off the night strong. Lots of just running around with Evie. I know… you’re probably tired of hearing about it. Ha! This is the night she found rocks to pass out to every guest, including her new best friend of the evening, Calvin Roesner (who by the way, kept one of the six rocks she gave him as a souvenir of his trip. What a man.).

Sunday was the wedding day! It was the chill-est wedding day I’ve been a part of… Logan, Evie and I went for a morning swim (because we all know pregnant Shauna loves parading around a pool in a two piece, which is the only suit I could get into the night before we left…), ate a buffet breakfast at the Tap Room, took a stroller ride, got a nice relaxing shower in, napped, curled our hair (not Logan’s), and got everyone dressed all before go time for pictures at 3:45. I was just impressed to be walking out the door on time!

The wedding was at the St. Pete Women’s Club, which fit the classy theme of the whole weekend. Evie was absolutely honored to be the flower girl, and my, what a wonderful job she did (although two minutes before, I was second guessing her ability as she was hand over fist shoving millions of grapes in her mouth and rolling around on the floor throwing a mini tantrum… luckily she pulled it together). We got to practice with the flower petals in our hotel hallway, and she was a natural. She went down that aisle with such determination and perfection, I couldn’t have asked for a sweeter little lady. She was literally the youngest person at the wedding by 20 years… so she got plenty of attention from anyone willing to give it to her. The dance was, I would say, the highlight for Evie. I’m pretty sure that she learned the how to’s  of having a good time that night. I’ve never seen her bust a move quite like she did. What a perfect wedding!

In the morning, we got our bags packed up and hit the road for the newly wed Jansen’s home for opening gifts and eating leftovers from the night before. So thankful that Evie was excited about sleeping in the guest bed at Holly’s (she specifically requested that I shut the door behind me as I left… since when!), among all the other days and nights she snoozed very well. Praise Jesus. To be honest, it was hard work being “on” 24 hours a day while we were there. But the joy of being together and getting to see Evie experience the events was well worth it. Also very thankful… I was thinking back on the trip and realized that I actually felt pretty darn good the whole time: morning, noon, and night. By the grace of God!

We flew out in the late afternoon, rolled into our home at 10:20pm, threw Evie in bed, unpacked, and sleep finally arrived. A whirlwind of wonderful time with our family, celebrating such a blessing! Congratulations Holly and Ray! So happy we got to be part of your special day!

IMG_5837 IMG_5838 IMG_5841 IMG_5842 IMG_5843 IMG_5844 IMG_5845 IMG_5849 IMG_5850 IMG_5853 IMG_5854 IMG_5855 IMG_5862 IMG_5867 IMG_5868 IMG_5872 IMG_5873 IMG_5874 IMG_5875 IMG_5877 IMG_5878 IMG_5880 IMG_5881 IMG_5882 IMG_5884 IMG_5885 IMG_5886 IMG_5887

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

