New-Fashioned Hymns: Praise to the Lord

I love the melody to this hymn. Catchy melodies are… well, you know, catchy. It took me awhile before I realized I was singing this catchy song, but I had no idea what the heck it was actually saying. Since then, I’ve learned to love the message this song presents. So here’s my take on the lyrics, and what they mean to me as I translate them into something I can wrap my head and heart around.

Praise to the Lord, the Almighty

Praise to the Lord, the Almighty, the King of creation!
O my soul, praise Him, for He is thy health and salvation!
All ye who hear, now to His temple draw near;
Praise Him in glad adoration.

The God who is in charge of all things created deserves my appreciation.
My inner depths sing out: I am so grateful for my sound liberation
Everyone who has ears, get closer and listen to the Lord
Recognize his endless extent.

Praise to the Lord, who over all things so wondrously reigneth,
Shelters thee under His wings and so gently sustaineth!
Hast thou not seen how thy desires have been
Granted in what He ordaineth?

God know the right way to lead me, even if it’s a mystery in my eyes,
He hides me away from danger and lets me thrive undeservedly!
Can’t you see how God gives you what you need?
Why would he refuse something that matches his plan?

Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Gladly in awe we adore
Our delight Jesus Christ
Come now before Him!

I rave about my Jesus!
I have no reservations about making him my idol.
I am only satisfied by laying down my junk at his feet
And grabbing hold of his hands instead.

Praise to the Lord, who doth prosper thy work and defend thee;
Surely His goodness and mercy here daily attend thee.
Ponder anew what the Almighty can do,
If with His love He befriend thee.

I’m grateful that God fights my battles for me,
It’s so obvious that he is good because he gives me a fresh start every day!
Just think of what an all powerful God is capable of doing
With merely one single sold out servant!

Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Gladly in awe we adore
Our delight Jesus Christ
Come now before Him!

God, you’re bigger than me!
No part of me wants to believe anything different.
I’m so glad I have permission to be with you
Through the work of Jesus!

Praise to the Lord, O let all that is in me adore Him!
All that hath life and breath, come now with praises before Him.
Let the Amen sound from His people again,
Gladly for aye we adore Him.

God, you are good; train my heart to treasure you above any other.
Won’t it be something to hear all things give you credit for what you’ve done?
Yes, yes, yes!
Forever I sing about Jesus!

Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Gladly in awe we adore
Our delight Jesus Christ
Come now before Him!

I’m stuck on you, God.
There’s no reason not to be pleased as punch
In you, Jesus!
I want to honor you with my life.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

