Kitchen Cabinets Are The Pits

Welp, it was time. Time to do something I never actually thought I’d do. Our cabinets in the kitchen have been pretty well loved for a number of years, and it was time to refinish them. I’ve always known that I will never be one of those people who live in a house and remodel it at the same time… And let me tell ya, I stand by that statement. It only took one week, but I was about to go bonkers. Staining and finishing even this small kitchen took a great deal of patience. I’m usually a get-it-done-in-a-day project person… And this project made me wait a day between every freaking coat! Whaaaat.

It all started when we were googley-eyeing some of our friends’ bathroom cabinets they recently refinished, and before we knew it, we had bought the same gel stain and polyurethane they had used. And then… we dove in.

Three coats of General Stains Java Gel Stain and three coats of Minwax Satin Polyurethane and tetelestai! It is finished. Probably not said quite as intensely as Jesus said it, but… almost. Here are the pa-hotos!

IMG_4046 IMG_4047 IMG_4117 IMG_4118 IMG_4188 IMG_4223 IMG_4224 IMG_4225

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

