New-Fashioned Hymns: Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

Wowza. This song is packed with words that this white girl from Kansas ain’t catching onto naturally. I’ve had to do some dictionary work on this one. This hymn has everything to do with God’s unending, obsessive love for me, and how I can trade my ever-sinful tendencies for his simple grace. It truly does make me want to cheer! What a savior! Why wouldn’t I want to follow him?

Come thou fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace
Streams of mercy never ceasing
Call for songs of loudest praise

Jesus you are the source of all good things
Keep my heart remembering your compassion
This never-ending goodwill of yours
Makes it my gut response to cheer!

Teach me some melodious sonnet
Sung by flaming tongues above
I’ll praise the Mount I’m fixed upon it
Mount of Thy redeeming love

I want to learn the songs in which
The seraphim and cherubim forever serenade you
The lowest point in your life, the cross, is the highest point in mine,
I come to cash in my here-and-now mistakes for your always-and-forever love

Here I raise my Ebenezer
Hither by Thy help I come
And I hope by Thy good pleasure
Safely to arrive at home

You’re my rock of help, I make a toast to your selflessness.
My hope can only be found in your power
to give me a fire escape from hell
Better yet, a way to heaven!

Jesus, sought me when a stranger
Wandering from the fold of God
He, to rescue me from danger
Interposed His precious blood

You came after me, an outsider,
A man whose trade was a jack-of-all-sins
You saw the trouble with me
And intervened with the cross.

Ode to grace, how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be
And let Thy goodness like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to Thee

Even after you’ve saved me
I still tie myself down to my old habits
May your generosity cut those ties
And connect my deviant heart to yours

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart, Lord, take and seal it
Seal it for Thy courts above

My vagabond flesh feels the pull
To roam, rootless, footloose, unengaged with you
So before I fall captive again,
stamp your signet on my heart, fused with yours eternally.

One thought on “New-Fashioned Hymns: Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

