New-Fashioned Hymns: Christmas Edition!

Oh Christmas. You are here. And Christmas music is here too. I have a hard time with Christmas music. Don’t get me wrong, I like it. But when it comes to using Christmas music as worship to Jesus, it’s difficult for me to connect. Year after year, singing the same old songs feeds my spiteful spirit toward worshiping during this season. The lyrics have long since lost their conviction in my heart. I know I should get over it; those songs aren’t going away, nor should they. But I still struggle.

A few Sundays ago, our church struck up the Christmas music during our service time. As I grappled with the feelings I described above, Jason shared a great word from the Psalms. Its first line was talking about singing a new song to the Lord. New. Harumph. Here we go, Joy to the World, for the bazillionth time. Not exactly what I call a new song.

However, I undervalue the power of God sometimes. I let it slip my mind that I go to a church that has leaders who are tuned into the same God I pray to and share my struggles with. So thankful that God works through Jason’s talent as he shares new twists on old songs. Creating different choruses helps bring those old songs back to life and breathing in my heart. It puts that psalm into perspective. I can actually sing a new song to the Lord, even while singing old Christmas tunes. I love that I’ve been able to sing with my heart during this Christmas season and not just heartlessly give lip service to Jesus.

I decided to take some of these songs and create a Christmas Edition of the New-Fashioned Hymns series. Here’s the first go around!

Joy to the World

Joy to the World, the Lord is come!
Let earth receive her King;
Let every heart prepare Him room,
And Heaven and nature sing,
And Heaven and nature sing,
And Heaven, and Heaven, and nature sing.

Everyone, cheer up because Jesus is here!
Our world is gaining a selfless leader,
All hearts, allow God to infiltrate your insides.
Every piece of creation belts it out!

Joy to the World, the Savior reigns!
Let men their songs employ;
While fields and floods, rocks, hills and plains
Repeat the sounding joy,
Repeat the sounding joy,
Repeat, repeat, the sounding joy.

We are filled with delight because Jesus is in charge!
Because of this, we make use of our voices
Along with all that God has created,
Incessantly telling others of our joy!

Sing with joy, sing with joy
Emmanuel is here!
He gave his life to pay sin’s price
To make the nations near.
Sing with joy
sing with joy!

Gladly lift up your voice,
God has come down to be with us!
Christ crucified settled the debt of our crimes
So that this world could feel the presence of God.
Joyfully sing this truth,
For it’s a joy-filled gospel to embrace!

No more let sins and sorrows grow,
Nor thorns infest the ground;
He comes to make His blessings flow
Far as the curse is found,
Far as the curse is found,
Far as, far as, the curse is found.

The Lord makes a way for us to be rid of our sin and our sadness
Even in this broken, beat down, messed up world.
His desire is for us to intertwine ourselves with his mercy
This side of heaven.

He rules the world with truth and grace,
And makes the nations prove
The glories of His righteousness,
And wonders of His love,
And wonders of His love,
And wonders, wonders, of His love.

Jesus generously and genuinely leads us
and his teaching compels us to prove to all that he is
Amazingly guiltless and immensely devoted to his people.

Sing with joy, sing with joy
Emmanuel is here!
He gave his life to pay sin’s price
To make the nations near.
Sing with joy
sing with joy!

Gladly lift up your voice,
God has come down to be with us!
Christ crucified settled the debt of our crimes
So that this world could feel the presence of God.
Joyfully sing this truth,
For it’s a joy-filled gospel to embrace!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

