New-Fashioned Hymns: Before the Throne

Lately at CrossPoint, Jason (worship leader) has been busy overhauling old hymns. Hymns are kind of what I grew up singing, but in my circle, they’ve gone by the wayside, giving way to more modern, rocky feeling worship music. I have a place in my heart for both. If you know me at all, the Lord made me a language junky. I love words. I love writing, and I’ve always loved well thought out lyrics to songs. So in essence, any worship song that makes me think about the words I’m singing helps me connect better with Jesus.

Now that our church has been ramping up hymns, I’ve felt the need for my own self to do some modern translations of the words. We throw around lots of thees and thences and yoda-like pronoun mixtures, which I don’t mind. However, if I’m just regurgitating words that I don’t understand, how can it have meaning in my heart?

Therefore, I’m starting to translate some of these melodies from an older dialect to my own verbiage. It’s truly been a worshipful experience (that sounds really lame, but I’m for realz) for me to go through songs with my mind’s eye. I started with one of my favorites, and there’ll inevitably be more.

Before the Throne of God Above
I approach, you, the God of everything,
with something genuinely important to me.
I beg you to hear me out: I need a Jesus in my life.
The kind of Jesus who loves me enough to beg on my behalf.
On Jesus’ hands and heart,
my identity is carved and firmly fixed.
He knows my name.
He controls all things, and no one can argue my destiny.
It happens too often that Satan tries
to attack my insecurities by whispering lies to me.
In those moments, I call out to Jesus.
His answer? Remember son, I came and rescued you.
I’ve already beaten your sin! You’re free!
I made a deal with the Father.
It’s a fair trade now; when He looks at you,
he sees my perfection instead of your mess;
Flawless beauty for toxic ashes.
I am relieved!
What indescribable joy I have!
No one to thank but the one who died and rose again, Jesus!
I look in awe at him who beat death
and think of the pure goodness that he is.
He never changes,
He deserves all my affections due to his lavish mercy on me.
Because he took the bullet for me,
I am salvaged from the wreckage of this shipwrecked life.
He is my secret hideout,
the one whom I worship with grateful adoration!
I am relieved!
What indescribable joy I have!
No one to thank but the one who died and rose again, Jesus!
Before the throne of God above
I have a strong and perfect plea:
A great High Priest, whose name is Love,
Who ever lives and pleads for me.
My name is graven on His hands,
My name is written on His heart;
I know that while in heaven He stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart
No tongue can bid me thence depart.
When Satan tempts me to despair,
And tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look, and see Him there
Who made an end to all my sin.
Because the sinless Savior died,
My sinful soul is counted free;
For God the just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me
To look on Him and pardon me
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Praise the One,
Risen Son of God!
Behold Him there, the Risen Lamb
My perfect, spotless righteousness,
The great unchangeable I am,
The King of glory and of grace!
One with Himself I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ, my Savior and my God
With Christ, my Savior and my God
Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Praise the One,
Risen Son of God!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

