Inspirational Zombie

Sometimes I’m just looking for a little inspiration in my life. The thought of having a little quiet time with the Lord early in the morning is a pretty normal occurrence for me. On a given day, I siphon through the Scriptures looking for something that sticks out to me for about five minutes. When I come across it, I look at it, I read it, and then I say, “That’s nice.” and then I am finished.

Sometimes my prayers match the shallowness of my studies. Much too frequently, I pray that I would have a good day. Or a good weekend. My mind’s definition of good is happy and uneventful usually. I just want to be comfortable.

I’m kind of tired of this pattern. This can’t be what the Christian life is. Cracking open the Book to find some inspiration, and then asking God to bless me with happiness and comfy cushions. Enter vomit. But I live like this many days.

“If all we get out of Christ is a little inspiration for a few short years, we’re a pretty sorry lot. But the truth is that Christ has been raised up, the first in a long legacy of those who are going to leave the cemeteries.” [1 Corinthians 15:19-20 MSG]

Two words with two different meanings: inspiration and legacy.

  • Inspiration: the process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something
  • Legacy: something that someone has done that continues to exist after they stop working or die

I can be inspired all day long by things in my world. Kids can be inspiring. Words of others can inspire me. The Bible can definitely inspire. But if I leave it at inspiration, I only have a feeling. A mental stimulation. And Paul says it pretty swiftly that I’m a pretty sorry lot. Chya. I feel like a sorry lot.

Legacy is where it’s at. This is the action that inspiration should, well, inspire in me. If I want to be part of Christ’s legacy, I have to break free from inspirational couch cushions and hit the legacy road. If I’m going to be one of the elect who gets to scoot when Jesus toots his horn, I have got to stop being a Christian zombie. “Feeeed me, I’ve come to suck your inspirational Bible blood,” can no longer escape my lips.

For God’s sake, I am ALIVE when I am with Christ! I need to start showing signs of life.

I want to leave a legacy

How will they remember me?

Did I choose to love?

Did I point to You enough to make a mark on things?

I want to leave an offering

A child of mercy and grace who blessed your name unapologetically

And leave that kind of legacy

 

2 thoughts on “Inspirational Zombie

  1. It is nice to know that I am not the only one that goes thru that some process day after day and when I get to the end of the day, I sit and ponder……..Did this day even make a difference for the kingdom? Pushing forward with the legacy I want to leave is what I want in my life. Thank you for your “inspiration”!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

