The Valley of Vision

“You assessed your defenses that Day, inspected your arsenal of weapons in the Forest Armory. You found the weak places in the city walls that needed repair. You secured the water supply at the Lower Pool. You took an inventory of the houses in Jerusalem and tore down some to get bricks to fortify the city wall. You built a large cistern to ensure plenty of water. You looked and looked and looked, but you never looked to him who gave you this city, never once consulted the One who has long had plans for this city.” [Isaiah 22:9-11]

It’s easy to get caught in the “just do it” mentality. What I mean by that is I find myself so busy with things to do around this city, that I just do stuff, all day long. I forget that in order to hear God, I’ve got to spend time with him.

The scripture came from a book I brought with me this summer called The Valley of Vision, by Arthur Bennett. The title of this book is derived from Isaiah 22, and so before reading this morning, I decided to read that chapter. Smack in the face.

We’ve been seeing some great things here in Kingman: we’ve met some great people, finished some taxing projects, set goals for the summer, staying pretty busy so far. We’ve also been blessed beyond all measure by friends and family (thank you x3!), what with receiving in a matter of three days: a sound system, a cajon, chairs, a refrigerator, tables, a washer and dryer, games, and more. It’s been amazing. Things are looking up.

There’s just one thing. I haven’t been real great about getting quality time with God. We’ve been studying Experiencing God as a team this summer, and that’s been part of what has made me realize that my relationship with God has taken a backseat to all the happenings around here. It’s easy for me to do a study, read some words, and then move on. That way of life isn’t about God, it’s about knowing about God. There’s a vast difference. I will never be satisfied just knowing about God, nor will I get to experience him in the ways he intends. I need to connect with him deeper than just reading and then saying, “love you God, yee haw I’m done.”

The verses above match this routine I’ve begun to see. I’ve done all these things for this city, “[I’ve] looked and looked and looked, but [I] never looked to him who gave [me] this city.” Bam. I need the vision of God in order to move forward and do anything worthwhile in this city. If I am in an intimate love relationship with Jesus, I will inherit that vision. If I’m not, well, I’m just doing things for my own glory then. These last few days as I’ve sought out that closeness with God, this is the truth he’s revealed to me.

Oh God, be my everything, be my delight. Be Jesus, my glory, my soul satisfied.

One thought on “The Valley of Vision

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

