Living Well

“Don’t lose your grip on Love and Loyalty. Tie them around your neck; carve their initials on your heart. Earn a reputation for living well in God’s eyes and the eyes of the people.

Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track. Don’t assume that you know it all. Run to God! Run from evil! Your body will glow with health, your very bones will vibrate with life!  Honor God with everything you own; give him the first and the best. Your barns will burst, your wine vats will brim over.” [Proverbs 3:3-10 MSG]

Do I have a reputation of living well in the eyes of God and other people? Lately, looking at my life, I see cluttered activity. I think if I were to ask people around me a word that describes my lifestyle, they would say words like “productive,”  “fast-paced,” or “jam-packed.” I would have to agree. But the question begs, is that the reputation I’m after?

No.

I can honestly say that most of the activities that fill my life are great things. I have heard it said many a time that I need to evaluate the activity that I am involved in and decipher between the good things and the God things. The trouble is, I don’t know what that looks like. What does that mean?

The second slice of this proverb pie contains my answer, even though it’s slightly abstract. I can’t figure this out on my own. I know there are ways to steal back my time, I just don’t know which way is the God way yet. I’m ready to take action, but the action in which to take is fuzzy.

God, I know that I don’t know it all. I am listening to your voice.  In everything I do, everywhere I go, I’m listening.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

