Irrigating the Sinuses!

Well, I had a new experience today. I’ve recently been introduced to the concept of sinus irrigation through several friends who swear by it. I actually didn’t really think I’d jump on the bandwagon, what with the process of draining a pot of saltwater up into my

nasal cavity not sounding like the neatest idea ever. Not sure what doesn’t sound appealing to me, other than the part  about draining a pot of saltwater up into my nasal cavity. What the heck.

But alas, today I have diagnosed myself with a sinus infection, not unlike the 30 million other peeps in our city with similar symptoms. After getting over a cold last week, I’ve had the whole headache thing for the last three days, stuffy nose, colorful boogers. What the heck.

Seeing that we are leaving for Utah early in the morning on Monday, and there’s no way in heck I’m going to Stat Care, we started thinking of some home remedies. Logan actually did the research, and said something about a Neti Pot. The pump was already primed for me. I said, “What the heck? Let’s try it.”

Then I tried it. The strangest sensation. I choked a few times on saline solution running down my throat. Logan had fun watching water pouring out my nose and even wanted to collect video footage of the occasion (he would). I quickly dismissed that idea… this is sounding more and more like ear candling at the Henry house. But I would have to say, it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. Slash, it kinda worked really well. It cleared out the nasal passages for the time being. I will be continuing the use of my Neti Pot this week. Why the heck not?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

