Relationships

“Let’s see how inventive we can be in encouraging love and helping out, not avoiding worshiping together as some do but spurring each other on, especially as we see the big Day approaching.”  -Hebrews 10:24-25

This isn’t meant to be a long post, but I was just reading these verses this weekend on relationships, and I was struck by the wording. It was an  encouraging thought to me that God wants me to be creative in how I interact and show love to other people. Sometimes I can get so ingrained in the same old stuff as I’m serving other people that I forget how effective change can be.

Logan and I have recently revisited the concept of the five love languages. I definitely need to keep these in mind with my friends and those who are around me. Sometimes it’s hard to love others. And it can be even more difficult if a person is not responsive to your acts of love toward them. I need to remember to step into their hearts and find out how they receive love!

My primary love languages are mainly quality time and gifts. Logan’s are acts of service and words of affirmation (the other love language that is neither of our primary languages is physical touch). When I give Logan gifts, I am expressing my love language toward him. Does he receive that? Yes, but I am not speaking his language. If I really want him to feel the love, then I will do acts of service for him or encourage him with words instead of give gifts. Even though his languages aren’t my primary languages and I may not feel completely fulfilled by showing love to him by acts and words, I am filling his tank by expressing love in his language.

This concept can be used in all relationships: friends, co-workers, roommates, family, etc.  It is so important to be able to spur each other on in this way. It’s actually God’s plan for loving others! Do you know your love language? I’d love to know it! Give me some feedback! What is yours? Take the quiz! Then comment below with yours, unless you don’t want me to love you. Hee hee.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

