Living for the Weekend

Living for the weekend: this is how I’ve caught myself living lately. Yes, perhaps another down in the dumps blog is in store here… but that’s perhaps where I am, so a request for apologies has been sent.

I tend to muddle through my week and actually feel sort of sedated sometimes, but once Friday comes, I exit this phase of dormancy. Something changes on Friday, and I am once again excited about life. Once Monday morning comes along though, I am back to the dismay of the grind. I wonder how many people out there live just like me.

Somehow I know this philosophy of life is unhealthy. It creates a sense of motion sickness, the feeling of being on a roller coaster, a constant rise and fall through every turn of the week. This mindset is something I must excommunicate from my life. It doesn’t help me be a better person in any stretch of the word.

  1. This way of life makes the better part of my week drag on. Weekends aren’t very long anyway, and when they’re gone, I have five whole days to get through. That makes for a short time of happiness in a given week when five out of the seven days are filled with feelings of melancholy.
  2. It makes my attitude suck during the week. I’m more irritable. My fuse is much shorter with students. I dread work, and I don’t even hate my job. I have a negative outlook on life. I feel ragged, run-down, and rude. I retreat.
  3. I lead a double life when I live like this. It’s not real and bona fide, and it strips me of the joy I should have inside. Up and down, yes and no, in and out…

“So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking around life—and place it before God as an offering… fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out.”

“…if you work with the disadvantaged, don’t let yourself get irritated with them or depressed by them. Keep a smile on your face. Love from the center of who you are, don’t fake it… don’t burn out, keep yourselves fueled and aflame… don’t quit in hard times, pray all the harder.”

An encouragram from Paul to the Romans (and to a Salinian today) arrives and states that I don’t have to live only for the weekends. I can have pure joy in sacrificing my life and be changed deep in my heart every day of the week, in my ordinary life. Thank you Jesus! Please work a miracle in my life and transform my heart into something fleshy that can find joy in all the activities that I do.

It’s time that I stop living for two days a week and start celebrating all seven.

One thought on “Living for the Weekend

  1. Good words, Shauna -much needed today. I once heard someone say something along these lines, “If Christ doesn’t reign in the mundane, Christ doesn’t reign at all.” When our happiness is rooted in knowing Christ, we don’t have to lean on our circumstances to bring us joy. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

