Listen

In the last week, I’ve heard three different stories.

  1. A husband stabbing his wife to death.
  2. A couple divorcing after 19 years of marriage.
  3. Two precious people breaking up after going through so much together.

These are three very different stories, and they’re all at different levels of awful. I hate to bring these depressing stories to my bloglight, but for some reason, they have struck me. They’ve made me begin to think about relationships, and what goes wrong in them.

Why does this world have to offer so much pain and brokenness to its inhabitants? I become broken myself when I hear about heart-wrenching stories like these. What could have possibly changed so drastically in order to call it quits in the manner each story chose? Surely no two people start a relationship with a picture already in mind of how it will end. So when it gets rough, why can’t they look back to the beginning and let the memory of happiness be enough to spark a flame?

I know things don’t really work that way, but I wish the painful separations could stop. Broken relationships are everywhere, and it’s not unreasonable to think that these 3 stories I have mulled over are not unique in our world.

Although… (yep, here it comes) somehow through the hurt of ending relationships, there is God. His desire is for us to love.  Paul says that the whole point of life is love– love uncontaminated by self-interest and counterfeit faith, a life open to God.

Newsflash: we live in Fallenville though. Love is not always the motivator. Sometimes our own selfish wants take precedence over fighting for love. Perhaps this counterfeit faith affects us as well. An empty, fake faith doesn’t stand up too long in adversity.

I don’t really have any wisdom on this subject, and no way of solving the problems I’ve brought up. I just know I’m weary of hearing stories of people taking their love and throwing it to pigs. In this regard, heaven can’t come soon enough.

God, help our world and its fragmented people!

2 thoughts on “Listen

  1. This reminds me of the segment of scripture in Nehemiah 4 where the Jews are working to rebuild the wall in Jerusalem. They were experiencing opposition from Sanballat (and his clan) which was causing them to grow weary in rebuilding the wall… ultimately they were afraid they would be killed. Nehemiah posted people along the wall for protection and I love what he said… “Don’t be afraid! Remember the Lord, who is great and awesome, and fight for your brothers, your sons and and your daughters, your wives and your homes.”

    There are times in our marriages where rebuilding is necessary and I believe God has called us to truly fight for our husbands, wives, children and homes!!! The job the onlookers have as our friends fight for marriage is to remind them of how awesome God is… his perfect love that heals, restores and brings life. Jesus protect our marriages and homes as we live life in “fallenville”!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

