Well we all have a face… and mine is smiling.

Monday, March 1

Reading Facebook statuses that morning, I read about a concert that happened two days prior on Saturday night. It was one of those concerts that you just know doesn’t happen very often, and probably won’t be returning to anywhere near you ever again. I was bothered by this, seeing that this was one of my lifelong dreams that had been tucked away since I was a child. I was telling Logan about this later on that evening, and my feelings about the situation.

Of course Logan takes action. He gets online, looks up websites and Select-A-Seat. And lo and behold, the same concert, by the grace of God, would be held in Wichita. I couldn’t believe my ears. It had to be sold out. Oh no, they just released 100 more tickets? When is it? Wednesday night. Do we have the money? No, but… yes! Anything for this experience.

Would there be anyone who would want to go with us? All of our friends probably couldn’t afford it, and to be honest wouldn’t WANT to afford it. We decided to call my parents. After all, they were the ones who introduced me to the music. Within minutes, they were in. We bought tickets and a parking pass, and it was good-bye, yellow brick road, hello zanzibar.

Wednesday, March 3

We left Salina at 5:15pm for Wichita’s Intrust Bank Arena. We arrived there at 6:40pm, not having eaten, and needing to pick up our tickets and parking pass at will call before the show started at 7:30pm. Luckily, we got dropped off right at the arena (people had already started to arrive and long lines had formed). Logan and I went in a line-less door to get to will call while mom and dad went to McD’s to get some quick eats. We walked in, walked out, walked less than a block to our parking lot and waited for Lexi to come rolling in with our high class All-American meals.

After a smooth ride the wrong way down a one-way street, there she came. We hopped in, parked, ate, and entered the Arena. People, beer, nachos, people. People, beer, hot dogs, people. Up the stairs (the escalator was full of old slow people) and around the place until we got to our section: 111. Found our seats on aisle P, seats 4, 5, 6, 7. Right above the floor seats, a straight shot to the stage. Who could complain? Other than the smell of onions all around me, I was in paradise.

The show started at 7:45, fifteen minutes late. Some silly Disney sounding music began the show, the lights went dim, and the empty stage began to transform. From below, two grand pianos emerged and began rising up to the main floor stage. From the right, the Piano Man. From the left, the Rocket Man. The moment I’d been waiting for. Elton John and Billy Joel rock my musical world.

There wasn’t a dull moment as the two took their places at their expertise. “Your Song” started the show, then came “Just the Way You Are” and a slew of other hits the two shared parts on.

After probably a half hour of the duo, Bill left and Elton pounded on. The Madman triplet was a little much for me, but other than that it was most enjoyable. I’m really glad I knew the lyrics to most of the songs because he did a lot of “passionate singing” where I really couldn’t hear what he was saying.

Then Elton took a break and Billy came back out. Definitely more of a crowd pleaser than EJ. He told jokes and sounded better (singing wise). Played some great songs, including one of my favorites: “Allentown!” I didn’t think I’d hear that one. “We Didn’t Start the Fire” was actually a bit sad watching all the pictures fly past. He didn’t miss a lyric.

After Billy was done, the encore began. They both came back out and played probably another 20 minutes of songage. They ended it with “Piano Man” and that was that. The only disappointing thing of the entire evening was that those two old guys can’t hit the high notes anymore. What can you do though? It’s not their fault they got old. Oh, and another disappointing factor was that indeed I had to go to school in the morning.

After all of it, I feel more… complete. I know that sounds a little weird, but somehow I feel a little more satisfied now. I did something that I’ve always wanted to do, but truthfully didn’t think I’d ever see the day. And to think, I only had to travel an hour and a half to see my two all time favorite musicians in the whole world. What a fun gift.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

