Eat this. Warning: it might not go down that easy.

Long Scripture.. But man, oh man, hang in there, heed the powerful words Peter speaks:

“Summing up: Be agreeable, be sympathetic, be loving, be compassionate, be humble. That goes for all of you, no exceptions. No retaliation. No sharp-tongued sarcasm. Instead, bless– that’s your job, to bless. You’ll be a blessing also get a blessing.

Whoever wants to embrace life and see the day fill up with good, here’s what you do: say nothing evil or hurtful, snub evil and cultivate good, run after peace for all you’re worth. God looks on all this with approval, listening and responding well to what he’s asked; but he turns his back on those who do evil things” -1 Peter 2:6-12 [MSG]

  1. This is what I desire myself to be. Stop saying evil things. Hurtful things just bring satan a step closer. (It’s funny, I keep typing “saran” instead of “satan”). Grow good things. Be a good girl. It’s just that frigging simple. I’m just saying.
  2. This is the theme I want for my classroom. All my children to run after peace and want to see their day fill up with good. The first five adjectives of this passage… agreeable, sympathetic, loving, compassionate, humble. BAM! No exceptions. No, not one. Perhaps I will post this in my room.
  3. This is what I want my LIFE Group to be about. The lack of sympathy, compassion, and AGREEABILITY (which may or may not be a word) tears the living down to bones. Be agreeable! Be loving! Keep the peace. On the other hand, when someone misses the mark on this – what are we supposed to do but refrain from retaliation? Give up on our sharp tongues. Stop the gossip. Keep the peace.

And in all three of these categories (life, work, and small group): Do you wanna be blessed? Then start blessing. It’s your job.

I’m starting to wonder… Does anyone hear me?

3 thoughts on “Eat this. Warning: it might not go down that easy.

  1. I hear ya my dear child! Wow, what a self critique I just went through. Do I speak nice words about people that I come in contact with everyday or do I find the negative in them? In the world of cynicism, it is sometimes difficult to be a blessing when you can see why people are in the circumstances they are in, but chose to do it anyway. What if we are the only “Jesus” that they see? Makes you stop and think before putting that ever so judging face on. Thank you for the reality check!

  2. Loud and clear! As “angelic” Logan pointed out this weekend, you and I are very similiar in many ways. When you write these things you write directly into my life. I know exactly the hot indignation that crawls up my neck, cross my forehead and rings in my ears when I lose or sadly, many times even when someone else wins… Poor in spirit. Recognizing my lowly spiritual condition and helplessness to prescribe any remedy for it. It is what I need. It drives me to Jesus. Keep it coming.

  3. Hello. I happened upon your site by accident while typing in my site address (http://sites.google.com/site/shaunaswindow/). I find it quite coincidental that our first names are spelled the same (not that common) and that our site names are the same. I wanted to say that I like what I’ve read so far and would like to follow your blog. I’ve also started my own blog so feel free to follow mine if you like: http://shaunawindow.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

